Hans Gerstenkorn

Unido: 24.may.2021 Última actividad: 09.jul.2024 iNaturalist

May 20, 2022 small update:

After a year of diligent documentation, I want to take a quick look back at the past few months.

First of all, I’ve to say 🙏🙏🙏

I came to get to know life "around me" better and at the same time to contribute to the documentation. As a layman, I’ve of course only been able to do this so far because I received a great deal of support from many members, especially from the scientific side, and I also have to thank You all for our forbearance in my superficial observations regarding the identification of organisms!.

I've learned a lot, but I'm still at the beginning. It's also not that easy to get help for amateurs, as Moose's example made clear to me: I've often been surprised that it's not easy for professionals either to identify mosses during a hot period, until I was made aware, which is self-evident for a specialist, that identification using photos is only possible in a natural, i.e. not in a dried state, (mostly), but for me.....

Well, after a year I still find everything around me interesting and worth capturing, even if my focus is preferably on mosses and lichens, but that doesn't prevent me from recognizing special organisms that I suddenly encounter or "cross my way". to hold on tight, it is also not very easy to document a fleeing spider if you first have to get the iPhone out of your pocket….

So thanks again to the community for the great support
:-))) Hans

I found this community because, as a nature lover, I have created a small collection of photos of the plants, animals and sometimes rocks that occur in my environment (sometimes also while on the move) and of which I simply would like to know more about (native or „immigrated"; original or bred, what status in the system / cycle, etc. . I am an absolute layman in the field of fauna and flora, rocks an so on, but it is fun to just go a little deeper into these worlds and since the WWW has existed, I can easily try to determine with my smartphone and small programs, in contrast to before where I used to be for hours had to look for folios in libraries.….
Home: I've been living since 1980 in Darmstadt, Rhein-Main Region, Germany

Ver todas