Unido: 24.abr.2019 Última actividad: 04.dic.2021 iNaturalist

First, thank you to everyone who has confirmed an ID for one of my observations. I really appreciate you taking the time to do so. For anyone who disagrees with an ID of mine, thanks even more! Those are places where I really need the help. I’m grateful for it!

As far as who I am? From the time I can remember, I was always that kid who didn’t much understand or care about stuff inside. So, whenever possible I went OUTSIDE. I tried to be quiet and still, so I could watch the natural world just be itself. Climbing fruiting trees to watch the birds that came in. Perching on downed trees in the water to see the little creatures in the vernal ponds. Begging birds to come to my hand for food, in an area where birds had never, ever done that. Feeding mice and chipmunks by hand too. Boy, my Mom was really not happy about the mice. She forbid me to feed them. I agreed. But, I was flat out lying. I still fed them! At age 52, I still go outside and sit quiet. Only now, I don’t have to come in when my Mom yells or honks the car horn. My first love was birds, and I still love them intensely. I’m now very excited about butterflies, and (don’t tell the butterflies!), but moths are even better! In the last year, I’ve started really working at dragonflies and damselflies; they are probably my current favorites. I love herps, when I can get them. I’m even starting to like spiders. Frankly, any non-human living thing is interesting to me. I’m not all that crazy about humans. It’s a fault, and it’s a fault that seems to get worse every year. When I’m not out looking at the natural world my two biggest passions are growing heirloom tomatoes and fostering dogs. I’ve been selecting for taste and productivity, saving seed, and growing 4 different colored old tomato varieties for over 20 years. I make juice with a hand mill, freeze it sub zero, and I hardly ever share any! I started fostering dogs in 2016, and I just sent my 23rd foster off to a great home. Of all those dogs I’ve only kept one, the 4th foster. He’s got issues, (oh boy!) but since he’s small and looks like a stuffed toy, so far the cops haven’t been called on me. I have a husband who is the love of my life. I’m now able to leave the north for 6 months of the year, avoiding the cold. Motorhome life! I originally thought I would hate it, but it turns out I’m crazy about it. Five winters and counting. Absolutely just Love it. I’m also very much a foodie. I’ll try anything once! I love to cook, and I love when others make great food for me. I drink more wine than I probably should. Life is good!

Ver todas